Youaremycandygirl wins Crown elimination for sophomore fillies

from the Breeders Crown

Wilkes-Barre, PA —Youaremycandygirl ($4.20), a noted front-stepper, moved to the lead in front of the stands and went on to a hard-fought head victory over Alexa’s Power in the sole $25,000 3-year-old pacing filly Breeders Crown elimination Saturday night (Oct. 20) at The Downs at Mohegan Sun Pocono.

Curtis Salonick photo

Youaremycandygirl wins the only Breeders Crown elimination for 3-year-old pacing fillies.

The sophomore fillies saw 11 horses declare for the Breeders Crown, with Kissin In The Sand and Baron Remy taking byes into the final (earnings-based) and the other nine being reduced by two in the elimination.

Alexa’s Power fired to the top early ahead of Double A Mint; Youaremycandygirl and driver Yannick Gingras were on the move from third approaching the :27.4 quarter on the sloppy track, grabbed the lead, and cut fractions of :56.3 and 1:24.2 without great pressure. Through the stretch Alexa’s Power made a good rally on the inside, but just missed to Youaremycandygirl at the end of the 1:52 mile.

Behind the top two, the qualifiers for the Crown final, in finish order, were Double A Mint, Solitary, Dance Blue, Percy Blue Chip and Strong Opinion.

The winner was the third of the night for trainer Ron Burke and his fourth of the Crown weekend. Defending Crown champion Youaremycandygirl, bred by Birnam Wood Farms, now has career earnings of $1,304,473 for owner W.J. Donovan.

Here is the draw for the $500,000 Breeders Crown 3-year-old pacing filly final, to be held next Saturday at The Downs at Mohegan Sun Pocono (* – elimination winner), followed by trainer and the driver in the elimination:

1 – Strong Opinion – Ron Burke – Joe Bongiorno
2 – Alexa’s Power – Jim Campbell – Tim Tetrick
3 – Double A Mint – Ron Burke – David Miller
4 – Percy Bluechip – Ron Burke – Matt Kakaley
5 — *Youaremycandygirl – Ron Burke – Yannick Gingras
6 – Dance Blue – Nancy Johansson – Andrew McCarthy
7 – Baron Remy – Ron Burke – Chris Page
8 – Solitary – Nick Surick – Brett Miller
9 – Kissin In The Sand – Nancy Johansson – Scott Zeron

Back to Top

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap