Maryland Sire Stakes final winners break three stakes records

by Cheri Stambaugh, MSRF Administrator

Ft. Washington, MD — The Maryland Sire Stakes freshmen closed out their season at Rosecroft with a bang on Wednesday (Oct. 3), setting three stakes records — one of which was also a track record.

The $67,000 Ralph Hayward Memorial for 2-year-old pacing fillies went to post as the sixth race with B For Real (Rusty’s For Real), driven by Frank Milby, returning to the winner’s circle after three second place finishes. Milby sent B For Real wire-to-wire in the 1:53.3 mile, just missing the track and stakes record by a fifth of a second. Anna B (Cam’s Rocket) finished second and How Bout Dat Rusty (Rusty’s For Real) took the show spot. Bryan J. Truitt is the owner and breeder of B For Real and Bryan Truitt Jr. is the trainer.

The 2-year-old filly trot was no surprise when Pats A Keeper, from the first Maryland crop of Lockkeeper, remained undefeated, notching her sixth career win in the stakes record 1:57 mile in the $67,000 Earl Wagner Memorial. Bossy Hilly (Great George Two) was up for place with Mary’s A Keeper (Lockkeeper) third. Jared Moyer drove Pats A Keeper for owner-breeder Pam Wagner and trainer Arlene Cameron.

Race eight on the card, the $67,000 Wayne Smullin Memorial for 2-year-old pacing colts and geldings, erased a stakes record that has stood since Mumbo King set it back in 1997. After a misstep last week, Tony Morgan took his time with Berzerker (Rusty’s For Real), sitting fourth at the quarter, third at the half, and second on the outside at the three-quarter pole, before stopping the clock in 1:52.2, a quarter-length in front of Rockin The Shades (Cam’s Rocket). Trump That Rusty (Rusty’s For Real) finished third. Berzerker is owned by Brandon, Clifton and Wanda Murray; Brandon also trains the colt.

The 2018 Maryland stakes season ended with the $67,000 2-year-old colt and gelding trot setting both the stakes and track record at Rosecroft for freshman geldings. The Richard Hans owned, bred and trained entry of Gaareat Gaazoo and Whoopdee Goo, both by Googoo Gaagaa, took air to the quarter with Whoopdee Goo getting the lead before the half. The pair battled down the stretch with Whoopdee Goo winning the record setting mile of 1:55.1, a neck in front of Gaareat Gaazoo. The show spot went to I Deliver (Four Starz Robro). Jim Morand was in the bike behind the winner.

Back to Top

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap